Contact | Privacy | DE / EN
Hackmanit Logo

WS-Attacker Screenshot

WS-Attacker

XML-based SOAP Web Services are a widely used technology, which allows the users to execute remote operations and transport arbitrary data. It is currently adapted in Service Oriented Architectures, cloud interfaces, management of federated identities, eGovernment, or millitary services. The wide adoption of this technology has resulted in an emergence of numerous - mostly complex - extension specifications. Naturally, this has been followed by a rise in large number of Web Services attacks.

By implementing common web applications, the developers evaluate the security of their systems by applying different penetration testing tools. However, in comparison to the well-known attacks as SQL injection or Cross Site Scripting, there exist no penetration testing tools for Web Services specific attacks. With WS-Attacker we intend to close this gap and provide developers and penetration testers automatic methods for detecting Web Services specific attacks. The tool currently supports the following attacks:

  • SOAPAction Spoofing
  • WS-Addressing Spoofing
  • Various XML Denial of Service variants
  • XML Signature Wrapping
To the project page

TLS-Attacker Screenshot

TLS-Attacker

TLS-Attacker is a Java-based framework for analyzing TLS libraries. It is able to send arbitrary protocol messages in an arbitrary order to the TLS peer, and define their modifications using a provided interface. This gives the developer an opportunity to easily define a custom TLS protocol flow and test it against his TLS library.

In addition, TLS-Attacker supports various known cryptographic attacks and their evaluations. This means you can simple check whether your server is vulnerable to padding oracle, invalid curve, or Bleichenbacher attacks. It has already allowed us to find vulnerabilities in major TLS libraries, including OpenSSL, Botan, or MatrixSSL.

To the project page

BurpSuite Single Sign-On Extension EsPReSSO

BurpSSOExtension: EsPReSSO

The BurpSuite Single Sign-On Extension EsPReSSO helps in the detection of various SSO protocols. It supports SAML, OpenID, OAuth, BrowserId, OpenID Connect, Facebook Connect and Microsoft Account. EsPReSSO passively analyzes the HTTP traffic and automatically highlights SSO messages in the Burp Suite proxy.

In addition, EsPReSSO provides editors for SAML and JSON Web tokens allowing to edit them easily. In addition, XML Signature Wrapping attack vectors can be created for SAML using the built-in WS-Attacker library.

To the project page

Metadata-Attacker Screenshot

Metadata-Attacker

This tools covers Cross-Site Scripting (XSS) security issues with media-files containing metadata. Such data is usually created by trusted devices like cameras. Therefore, there is the chance that providers handling this metadata, also trust them and that they thus use insuffcient or no filter mechanisms.

We have developed an open-source pentesting tool called Metadata-Attacker. It consists of a suite of self-developed tools that allow to create malicious proof-of-concept image (.jpg), audio (.mp3), and video (.mp4) files.

To the project page

Hackmanit Logo

WS-Attacker Screenshot

WS-Attacker

XML basierte SOAP Web Services sind eine weitverbreitete Möglichkeit, die dem Nutzer erlauben, aus der Ferne, Prozeduren aufzurufen und beliebige Daten zwischen Systemen auszutauschen. Es wird aktuell bei serviceorientierter Architektur, Cloud Schnittstellen, Verwaltung von föderierten Identitäten, eGovernment oder militärischen Services angewendet. Diese weitläufige Anwendungsmöglichkeit führte zum Auftreten von vielen - meist komplexen - Erweiterungen und damit zu einer höheren Unverständlichkeit. Das wiederum hat eine große Anzahl an möglichen Web Service Angriffen zur Folge.

Während des Implementierens von gewöhnlichen Web Applikationen nutzen die Entwickler verschiedene Penetrationstest Tools, um die Sicherheit Ihrer Systeme zu evaluieren. Im Vergleich zu sehr bekannten Angriffen wie SQL Injection oder Cross-Site Scripting, gibt es jedoch keine Penetrationstest Tools, die speziell zum Testen auf Web Service Angriffen ausgelegt sind. Eben diese Lücke soll der WS-Attacker schließen und damit den Entwicklern und Penetrationstestern die Möglichkeit geben, mögliche Web Service Attacken automatisiert zu erkennen. Das Tool unterstützt aktuell die Erkennung der folgenden Angriffe:

  • SOAPAction Spoofing
  • WS-Addressing Spoofing
  • Various XML Denial of Service variants
  • XML Signature Wrapping
Zur Projektseite

TLS-Attacker Screenshot

TLS-Attacker

Der TLS-Attacker ist ein Java basiertes Framework zur Analyse von TLS Bibliotheken. Es ist in der Lage willkürliche Protokoll-Nachrichten in einer willkürlichen Reihenfolge an den TLS Peer zu senden und dabei Modifiaktionen über das dafür vorgesehene Interface zu definieren. Das bietet dem Entwickler die Möglichkeit einfach eine selbst erstellte TLS Protokoll Abfolge zu definieren und diese an seinen TLS Bibliotheken zu testen.

Zusätzlich unterstützt der TLS-Attacker verschiedene bekannte kryptographische Angriffe. Das bedeutet, dass man auf einfache Weise überprüfen kann, ob der Server für Padding Oracle, Invalid-Curve oder Bleichenbacher Angriffe angreifbar ist. Es hat uns bereits ermöglicht, Schwachstellen in den großen TLS Bibliotheken zu finden, darunter auch OpenSSL, Botan oder MatrixSSL.

Zur Projektseite

Burp Suite Single Sign-On Erweiterung EsPReSSO

BurpSSOExtension: EsPReSSO

Die Burp Suite Single Sign-On Erweiterung EsPReSSO hilft bei der Erkennung von verschiedenen SSO Protokollen. Sie unterstützt SAML, OpenID, OAuth, BrowserId, OpenID Connect, Facebook Connect sowie Microsoft Account. EsPReSSO analysiert dabei passiv den HTTP Traffic und markiert SSO Nachrichten im Proxy von Burp Suite automatisch.

Zusätzlich bietet EsPReSSO Editoren für SAML und JSON Web Token um diese leichter editieren zu können. Außerdem können XML Signature Wrapping Angriffsvektoren auf SAML mithilfe der integrierten WS-Attacker Bibliothek erstellt werden.

Zur Projektseite

Metadata-Attacker Screenshot

Metadata-Attacker

Daten mit der Hilfe von Webservices hochzuladen ist mittlerweile selbstverständlich geworden. Dabei spielt es keine Rolle ob davon Audio-Dateien, Bilder oder etwa Videos betroffen sind. An dieser Stelle besteht immer das Potential, dass diese Dateien schadhaft sind. So zum Beispel auch durch in den Metadaten versteckte Angriffsvektoren, die zu einer Schwachstelle führen können.

Diese kleine Folge von Open Source Tools ermöglicht es, ein Bild (.jpg), eine Audio-Datei (.mp3) oder ein Video (.mp4) zu erstellen, das selbst gewählte Metadaten oder Cross-Site Scripting Vektoren enthält, um Webservices auf die Anfälligkeit gegen XSS Schwachstellen beim Darstellen von den entsprechenden Metadaten zu testen.

Zur Projektseite